How to configure Multitemplate and Multidomain ?

Questions about the backend functionalities: configuration, user management, course management, ...
marius
Newbie
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2016 3:59 am
Version: forma.lms 1.4.2

Re: How to configure Multitemplate and Multidomain ?

Post by marius » Fri Feb 03, 2017 1:40 pm

I have a server setup for multiple clients with multiple templates from their relevant sub-domains. This is working great with the exception of lost password and lost username e-mails. The e-mails continue to refer back to the main website URL and not the relevant client URL. How do I change this to display the relevant client URL?

User avatar
max
FormaLms Guru
Posts: 1849
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 10:41 am

Re: How to configure Multitemplate and Multidomain ?

Post by max » Fri Feb 03, 2017 1:53 pm

Hi Marius, and welcome on board!

Glad to hear that it's working great. Unfortunately, there is currently no way to have different e-mail texts according to the relevant URL. This is one inconvenient of this set up.
A good workaround is having a main URL that is as "neutral" as possible, and the same goes for the messages.

In our roadmap, we'd also like to change this behaviour in the future to solve this inconvenience. It will not be immediate, though (other priorities are more urgent) unless a customer is willing to sponsor the feature.
---------------------
Massimiliano Ferrari
Elearnit - Elearning e Knowledge Management
http://www.elearnit.net
http://www.linkedin.com/in/massimilianoferrari
m.ferrari[at]elearnit.net
http://elearnit.wordpress.com
Skype: m_ferrari_it

marius
Newbie
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2016 3:59 am
Version: forma.lms 1.4.2

Re: How to configure Multitemplate and Multidomain ?

Post by marius » Fri Feb 03, 2017 2:38 pm

Thanks Max for the quick reply. I'll configure the e-mail messages to be neutral - as you suggested.

Thx

AllanR
Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 5:27 am
Version: forma.lms 1.4.2

Re: How to configure Multitemplate and Multidomain ?

Post by AllanR » Mon Mar 13, 2017 6:25 am

Hi All,
I am trying to setup multi URL as well but i seem to be making a mistake somewhere as i cannot for the life of me get it to function :(
I have the following setup all on the same server (Arvixe shared server hosting):

My Main Domain: http://www.medixcentre.net
FormaLMS: http://www.forma.medixcentre.net

Client portals
http://www.AirForce.medixcentre.net
http://www.Army.medixcentre.net
http://www.Navy.medixcentre.net

Templates in "Templates" folder
standard (also site default)
tAirForce
tArmy
tNavy

multi URL settings in Forma
http://www.AirForce.medixcentre.net, tAirForce
http://www.Army.medixcentre.net, tArmy
http://www.Navy.medixcentre.net, tNavy

I have edited each template to have different login jpg and company logo png.

Im having trouble with the redirection part:
simple redirect in cPanel doesnt work as expected and no amount of fiddling with advanced DNS zone setting seems to function?

Could someone with experience in the server side redirection please help explain what i should be doing?
Does being on a shared server limit my ability to set this up?
In advanced DNS setting all my subdomains have the same IP record?
eg:
forma.medixcentre.net 14400 IN A 143.xx.xxx.223
www.forma.medixcentre.net 14400 IN A 143.xx.xxx.223
Army.medixcentre.net 14400 IN A 143.xx.xxx.223
www.Army.medixcentre.net 14400 IN A 143.xx.xxx.223

i have tried removing the A record for a CNAME
swapping the IP for www.forma.medixcentre.net

But nothing seems to work and even the IT support guy here at the office couldnt figure it out :(

Help please

Thankyou Allan

User avatar
max
FormaLms Guru
Posts: 1849
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 10:41 am

Re: How to configure Multitemplate and Multidomain ?

Post by max » Mon Mar 13, 2017 9:13 am

Hi Allan,

a couple of suggestions:
- in the multitemplate settings in Forma, get rid of everything except the domain, as in:
AirForce.medixcentre.net,tAirForce
- also, no space after the comma

It might be that all your subdomains have the same IP, that shouldn't be an issue.
You should set a CNAME for your alternative domains and point it to the IP of the "default" forma installation.

It's all I have right now, let's see if some colleague can offer more detailed advice.
---------------------
Massimiliano Ferrari
Elearnit - Elearning e Knowledge Management
http://www.elearnit.net
http://www.linkedin.com/in/massimilianoferrari
m.ferrari[at]elearnit.net
http://elearnit.wordpress.com
Skype: m_ferrari_it

AllanR
Newbie
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 5:27 am
Version: forma.lms 1.4.2

Re: How to configure Multitemplate and Multidomain ?

Post by AllanR » Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:43 am

This might be a silly question but all my subdomains are just empty creations? do need to actually install a base of forma on each one?

Could you please explain the how the code works for detecting which template should be presented?

User avatar
max
FormaLms Guru
Posts: 1849
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 10:41 am

Re: How to configure Multitemplate and Multidomain ?

Post by max » Wed Mar 15, 2017 9:13 am

Hi Allan,
no, of course you don't need to install a new forma for each domain. There would be no point in having this feature. Subdomains are just that, subdomains.

Sorry, I am not able to explain how the code works: I only know how to configure it in the UI.
---------------------
Massimiliano Ferrari
Elearnit - Elearning e Knowledge Management
http://www.elearnit.net
http://www.linkedin.com/in/massimilianoferrari
m.ferrari[at]elearnit.net
http://elearnit.wordpress.com
Skype: m_ferrari_it

User avatar
canelli
FormaLms Guru
Posts: 469
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:21 pm
Version: forma.lms 2.0
Contact:

Re: How to configure Multitemplate and Multidomain ?

Post by canelli » Wed Mar 22, 2017 10:11 pm

Hi Allan
all your subdomaiins must share the same public folder of the base forms.lms installation . So one installation of forma.lms serves many subdomains / urls eg.
company1.sample.com
company2.sample.com
this is a setup you must made on DNS (all subdomain share the same IP) and on server (apache configuration) changing directly the apache conf files of througth CPANEL administration of subdoamins

After you can see the same forma installation and login from all your domain or subdomains pointing the same server / folder you can configure the multidomain - multitemplate part of forma.lms and link a subdoamin with a template (as you already made)
After setup, made a logout , close the browser and then returngin to forma.lms with one of the url you will see the specific template

claudio
Cercate nel forum le riposte prima di chiedere. Check the forum before posting
---------------
Claudio Anelli
Joint Technologies - Sistemi avanzati per l'information technology

http://www.joint-tech.com
---------------

Post Reply