How to configure Multitemplate and Multidomain ?

Questions about the backend functionalities: configuration, user management, course management, ...
wmilagre
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 7:57 pm
Version: forma.lms 1.2

How to configure Multitemplate and Multidomain ?

Post by wmilagre » Fri Sep 05, 2014 8:29 pm

Hi Good Morning

I would to know how to configure Multitemplate and Multidomain features in FormaLMS 1.2. Someone could help me ??

Awaiting,
Wanderlon

User avatar
max
FormaLms Guru
Posts: 1849
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 10:41 am

Re: How to configure Multitemplate and Multidomain ?

Post by max » Sat Sep 06, 2014 2:51 pm

Hi,
welcome on board, wmilagre!
First of all, let me point you to this discussion. It's in Italian, but if you google translate it it should be fairly simple to understand.
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=11852

Anyway: Administration>configuration>settings>advanced>template domain

Then you just have to insert url,templatename
and so on, line after line.
Like this:

yourlms.com,standard
template1.com,template_1
template2.com,template_2

Just to be more detailed:
- you can duplicate your template via FTP of via FileManager, template duplication is not available through the Lms interface
- then you have to modify the 2nd, 3rd.... template by coding , or just by changing the company_logo.png and image.jpg images

That's all, hope this is enough to help!
---------------------
Massimiliano Ferrari
Elearnit - Elearning e Knowledge Management
http://www.elearnit.net
http://www.linkedin.com/in/massimilianoferrari
m.ferrari[at]elearnit.net
http://elearnit.wordpress.com
Skype: m_ferrari_it

wmilagre
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 7:57 pm
Version: forma.lms 1.2

Re: How to configure Multitemplate and Multidomain ?

Post by wmilagre » Mon Sep 08, 2014 2:46 pm

Hi Max,
Thanks for the Welcome and support. It Worked perfectly as you described !!!

Thank you very Much!!!!!! :lol: 8-) :D

User avatar
max
FormaLms Guru
Posts: 1849
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 10:41 am

Re: How to configure Multitemplate and Multidomain ?

Post by max » Mon Sep 08, 2014 2:59 pm

Hi Wanderlon,

glad to hear that!
---------------------
Massimiliano Ferrari
Elearnit - Elearning e Knowledge Management
http://www.elearnit.net
http://www.linkedin.com/in/massimilianoferrari
m.ferrari[at]elearnit.net
http://elearnit.wordpress.com
Skype: m_ferrari_it

dhall
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:33 pm

Re: How to configure Multitemplate and Multidomain ?

Post by dhall » Fri Mar 13, 2015 3:45 pm

Hi:
I've been absent for quite some time and have now upgraded to Forma 1.3.
I'm trying this feature and it is not working.
My Domain Template list is as follows:
popular-networking.com,mobile
products-and-services.ca,compact
harperlearning.com,hl

I have one other template named standard (which is my original template I used) and no matter what Domain I log in from, I keep opening the standard template.

The sites I'm coming from are WordPress sites where I modified the Docebo Plugin to correctly go to my Forma LMS using SSO.

Any idea why this is happening?

Best Regards,
Dennis Hall

User avatar
max
FormaLms Guru
Posts: 1849
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 10:41 am

Re: How to configure Multitemplate and Multidomain ?

Post by max » Fri Mar 13, 2015 3:54 pm

Hi Dennis,

I would say that the issue is related to DNS configuration. Have you correctly configured your alternate URL's and alternate domains so that they point to the DNS of your LMS? If what you did is just a redirect, it will not work.
---------------------
Massimiliano Ferrari
Elearnit - Elearning e Knowledge Management
http://www.elearnit.net
http://www.linkedin.com/in/massimilianoferrari
m.ferrari[at]elearnit.net
http://elearnit.wordpress.com
Skype: m_ferrari_it

dhall
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:33 pm

Re: How to configure Multitemplate and Multidomain ?

Post by dhall » Fri Mar 13, 2015 4:00 pm

I just also verified, the standard template is my default template.

Regarding the DNS settings, I am able to change my DNS settings, however, the domains mentioned above are a few of my WordPress sites. If I configure alternate DNS, won't that redirect to my LMS if my domain host is down?

Maybe I'm misunderstanding what you are suggesting?

Update: The only DNS settings I can configure in every case for my Domains is DNS Forwarding, unless you are describing DNS Zone Management?

User avatar
max
FormaLms Guru
Posts: 1849
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 10:41 am

Re: How to configure Multitemplate and Multidomain ?

Post by max » Fri Mar 13, 2015 4:15 pm

Let me detail some more

If you want to have ALTERNATIVE home pages + URL's associated to ALTERNATIVE templates, you need to do as follow:

1) of course you shouldn't use the home page of your alternate sites... you should have a subdomain (i.e. elearning.popular-networking.com)
2) the subdomain's DNS should point to your LMS
3) (all the other configurations..)

This is the typical situation where if you visit http://elearning.popular-networking.com you actually see the associated template, not the standard one.

As I can see, you actually have a different situation than the one I described.

What you have is multiple sites where you want to have a SSO to your Forma Lms installation + you want to show a specific template according to the site you are coming from.

That is possible, but it's not what the "multitemplate-multidomain" function covers: it requires some coding.

If you need help on that, drop us a line.
---------------------
Massimiliano Ferrari
Elearnit - Elearning e Knowledge Management
http://www.elearnit.net
http://www.linkedin.com/in/massimilianoferrari
m.ferrari[at]elearnit.net
http://elearnit.wordpress.com
Skype: m_ferrari_it

dhall
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:33 pm

Re: How to configure Multitemplate and Multidomain ?

Post by dhall » Fri Mar 13, 2015 4:22 pm

Thanks for clarifying this. I now see what you mean.

Also, I just discouvered my Prodcuts-and-services.ca domain, I am able to set DNS for sub-domains, but not with my popular-networking domain (where the LMS is installed). This host (HostPapa) does not allow me to configure anything in DNS. My products and services.ca DNS registrar does allow me to configure DNS for sub-domains.

Either way, I do understand what you are saying. Maybe I will try to use a html query string to call the template during login.

I really appreciate you help and will post any solution I find for others.

Best Regards,
Dennis Hall

User avatar
canelli
FormaLms Guru
Posts: 469
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:21 pm
Version: forma.lms 2.0
Contact:

Re: How to configure Multitemplate and Multidomain ?

Post by canelli » Mon Mar 16, 2015 10:39 am

Hi Dennins
you can also assign specific template to specific user or you can assign a specific template to a single node of an ORG CHART, afterword all users that are assigned to this node will use the assigned template ( after login)

The sites I'm coming from are WordPress sites where I modified the Docebo Plugin to correctly go to my Forma LMS using SSO.
Can you share your mod to the wordpress plugin ?

Claudio
Cercate nel forum le riposte prima di chiedere. Check the forum before posting
---------------
Claudio Anelli
Joint Technologies - Sistemi avanzati per l'information technology

http://www.joint-tech.com
---------------

Post Reply